Baudin Rocks, off of Robe, South Australia - Image courtesy Sarah Hender

South Australia

www.sa.gsa.org.au
Email: info@sa.gsa.org.au

Talks & Events

Monthly Division Meetings
Next meeting
20 April 2017 - SA Division Annual General Meeting
Location: Mawson Lecture Theatre, University of Adelaide
Time: 615 pm start (530 pm for nibbles)

30 April 2017 - GSA SA Division / AusIMM/ASEG Family Picnic in the Park
Location: Apex Park, Burbridge Rd, West Beach, South Australia
Time: 9:00am-1:00pm
Cost: Free
Notes: 
All are welcome for a fun filled morning at the park, with kids (grandkids, extended family!). Activities for all ages, and a chance to catchup with your geoscience colleagues. Sausage sizzle provided. Please bring a child-friendly (nut-free)  plate of food to share, along with hats and drinks
Registration: For further information and to register for this event, please email adelaide@ausimm.com.au or info@sa.gsa.org.au by 28 April


Previous Division Meetings
21 February 2017
Topic: Excursion of the Tonsley Drill Core Storage Facility

17 November 2016
Topic: The generation of ore deposits in volcanic arcs starts with sulfate metasomatism in the mantle wedge: The source of oxidised arc magmas
Speaker: Dr Andy Tomkins

20 October 2016
Topic: Student Careers Night
Speaker: Graduate speakers discuss career options and personal journeys in geoscience


14-18 October 2018 – Australian Geoscience Council Convention: Big Issues and Ideas in Geoscience
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
This convention is hosted by the AGC and all the Australian geoscience member societies.
More information is coming soon.
Themes include:
- Understanding the Earth
- Life on Earth – origins and diversity
- Resources – discovery, development, use and sustainability
- Applied Geoscience in the 21st Century – innovation, technology and the future
- Beyond the Rocks – Geoscience in our society: current application and future trends
Scientific and Technical Program Convenor – Chris Yeats chris.yeats@industry.nsw.gov.au
AGC President and Convention Chair – Bill Shaw president@agc.org.au  

Webb and Howchin Medals
The Bruce Webb Medal may be awarded annually to a person distinguished for leadership that has advanced the earth sciences and/or contributions to the advance of knowledge within the earth sciences. The award will be made in regard to achievements associated with South Australia.
2016 recipient of the Bruce Webb Medal: Noel Hiern
2015 recipient of the Bruce Webb Medal: Jim Jago

The Walter Howchin Medal may be awarded annually to a researcher in the early stage of their research careers who is distinguished by their significant published research work within the earth sciences. Research contributions are judged on the quality, originality and recognition. Researchers should be 35 years of age or younger.
2016 recipient of the Walter Howchin Medal: Rian Dutch

Field Brochures
Brachina Gorge Geological Trail

The GSA SA Division is pleased to announce the publication of the new field guide for Brachina Gorgeand surrounding areas, the 9th in the continuing series of South Australian Geology Field Brochures.
The Guide was prepared by Noel Hiern of the GSA SA Divsion and the Field Guide Subcommittee.
For further details on this series of field guides please visit the GSA SA website
PDF and link coming soon

Robe Geological Trail

The GSA SA Division is pleased to announce the publication of the new field guide for Robe and surrounding areas; the 8th in the continuing series of South Australian Geology Field Brochures. The guide was prepared by John Cann of the GSA SA Division and the Field Guide Subcommittee.
PDF and link coming soon.

Committee

Chair: Graziella Caprarelli 
E: Graziella.Caprarelli@unisa.edu.au

Vice Chair: Anna Petts (acting)
E: anna_petts@yahoo.com.au

Secretary: Morgan Blades
E: morgan.blades@adelaide.edu.au

Treasurer / Conference Administration: Claire Wade
E: claire.wade@sa.gov.au

General Committee
Brandon Alessio
E: Brandon.alessio@adelaide.edu.au

Len Altman
E: LAltman@msc.sa.edu.au

Barry Cooper
E: barry.cooper@unisa.edu.au

John Foden
E: john.foden@adelaide.edu.au

Caroline Tiddy
E: caroline.tiddy@unisa.edu.au

Simon Holford
E: simon.holford@adelaide.edu.au

Sian Howard
E: sian.howard@adelaide.edu.au

Benjamin Kimpton
E: benjamin.kimpton@student.adelaide.edu.au

Tom Raimondo
E: tom.raimondo@unisa.edu.au

Drew Lubiniecki
E: drew.lubiniecki@adelaide.edu.au

Zoe Petrinolis
E: zoe.petrinolis@student.adelaide.edu.au

Geological Heritage
Bob Major (Convenor), Wayne Cowley, Pam Hasenhohr, Colin Conor, Ian Lewis.

SA Stratigraphy Subcommission
Wayne Cowley (Convenor), Jim Jago

Geological education: Len Altman

Field Guide Subcommittee: Barry Cooper (Convenor), Noel Hiern (Secretary), John Cann, Colin Conor, Wayne Cowley, Jim Jago, Nick Langsford, Bob Major